More Than 1,000 Optometrists Attend National Vision’s Annual Continuing Education Symposium


Reade Fahs addresses the more than 1,000 optometrists attending the recent National Vision CE symposium.

DULUTH, Ga.—National Vision Holdings Inc. (NASDAQ: EYE), one of the nation’s largest optical retailers, hosted more than 1,000 optometrists from its affiliated practices during the company’s annual continuing education symposium, which was held June 1 through 4 in Dallas. The company’s growing community of optometrists gathered for continued education, recognition for notable tenure and accomplishments, and conversations surrounding the state of the optical industry, according to a company announcement. In addition, the record-number of attendees heard from a respected lineup of speakers, giving all COPE-approved lectures.

“The professionals you see on your left and right, along with the rest of our network of optometrists who are not here today, account for roughly 5 percent of the nation’s practicing optometrists,” National Vision chief executive officer Reade Fahs said at the symposium, according to the company’s announcement. “Our community is expanding at a rapid pace, and most importantly, our network’s higher than ever retention rate shows the talented optometrists we already have attracted really enjoy this mode of practice.”

Dr. David Tai (l) takes a selfie with National Vision’s Reade Fahs.

National Vision said 22 optometry schools were represented at the event, with alumni of Salus University’s Pennsylvania College of Optometry leading the way, notably comprising 16 percent of the audience. In addition to having an alumni connection, many attendees also shared the accomplishment of practicing more than five years in the National Vision network. Nearly 150 attendees were honored for reaching notable tenure milestones this year alone, together dedicating more than 1,200 years to their respective practices, according to the announcement.

Albert Pasquarelli, OD, received a special honor for celebrating his 30th anniversary as a member of the network, while the following four doctors were recognized for 25 years of service to their practices: John Stavrakis, OD, Phillip Owsley, OD, Stephanie Attig, OD, and Ronald Pizzo, OD.

Among the attendees, 22 optometry schools were represented at the event.

Additionally, nine doctors were honored with the Optometrist of the Year Award for providing quality patient care and outstanding contributions to their practices. These included: DeAmbra Boucher, OD; Kevin Brooks, OD; Tina Bui, OD; Justin Campbell, OD; Tyrone Favis, OD; Ryan LeBlanc, OD; Angelo Tocco, OD; Marianne Tran, OD; and Mollie Veteto, OD.

“Our success lies in our people, and we’re always proud to recognize the achievements of those who make up our accomplished, dedicated optometric network,” Fahs said. “We look forward to more milestones in the years to come as we continue to focus on creating environments where ODs want to spend their entire careers, helping to further our mission of making quality eyecare and eyewear more affordable and accessible.”