ST. LOUIS—The American Optometric Association (AOA) has announced that the AOA Excellence, AOSA Student of the Year and National Optometry Hall of Fame Awards are now open for submissions. Interested parties can submit an award nomination for a colleague, peer or staff person who embodies passion for the vision community and works to further the profession, or can contact an affiliate office staff responsible for submitting entries. Applications are due by Feb. 12, 2024, according to the announcement.

Award recipients will be honored throughout Optometry’s Meeting in Nashville, Tenn., June 19-22, 2024. To view the criteria and nomination forms for all awards, click here.

The AOA annual awards, including Optometric Educator, Optometrist of the Year, Young Optometrist of the Year, Distinguished Service and Apollo, are now referred to as the AOA Excellence Awards. Nominations are also being accepted for paraoptometric awards, including Paraoptometric of the Year, Paraoptometric Community Service and Paraoptometric Lifetime Achievement.