ALEXANDRIA, Va.—The Vision Council hosted the 2024 Lab Leadership Forum on Thursday, April 11 and Friday, April 12, 2024 at the Temecula Creek Inn in Temecula, California. Nearly 100 optical industry executives gathered for the event, providing a platform for education, networking and recognition among optical laboratory professionals. The Lab Leadership Forum, tailored specifically for The Vision Council’s optical laboratory members, offered a comprehensive agenda aimed at fostering professional growth and collaboration among industry peers, according to an announcement from The Vision Council.

The event included the posthumous honoring of Steve Sutherlin with the 2024 Goodfellow Award during a ceremony held on Thursday. The Goodfellow Award, which was created to acknowledge individuals who significantly contribute to the advancement of the optical industry, recognized Sutherlin’s profound impact and lasting legacy. Sutherlin, an optical laboratory executive, dedicated his life to the industry and left an indelible mark through his leadership and tireless efforts. He played a pivotal role in the merger of the Optical Laboratories Association (OLA) into The Vision Council.

The Lab Leadership Forum also featured a diverse agenda, including informative sessions, engaging discussions and networking opportunities. Attendees participated in a range of activities, from a golf tournament to speed networking sessions. Michael Vitale, VP of membership, government relations and technical standards at The Vision Council, said, “The Lab Leadership Forum serves as a pivotal platform for fostering collaboration, innovation and professional development within the optical community. We are immensely proud to host almost 100 individuals from laboratories across the industry and witness the exchange of knowledge and ideas among industry leaders, further solidifying our collective commitment to excellence.”

Sponsors of the event included:

●       Hoya
●       Schneider Optical Machines
●       IOT-Neochromes
●       Armourx 
●       Pacific Artisan Labs
●       Satisloh North America
●       DAC Vision
●       SCL International
●       Bazell Technologies
●       Ultra Optics
●       National Optronics
●       Shamir