Vision Monday


Ophthalmic World Leaders Announces Finalists for 2017 Awards

By Staff
Friday, October 6, 2017 12:15 AM

KANSAS CITY, Mo.—The Ophthalmic World Leaders (OWL)—a national, not-for-profit organization dedicated to driving ophthalmic innovations and patient care by advancing diversity in leadership—announced the official candidates for the 2017 OWL Awards. The OWL Awards include the Visionary Award, Catalyst Award and Rising Star Award.

“The OWL Award finalists for 2017 represent the best of our ophthalmic community through their incredibly impactful leadership and support for advancing diversity,” stated OWL president, Heather Ready. “We are excited to honor and celebrate this year’s award recipients during our Signature Event at the American Academy of Ophthalmology meeting in New Orleans.”

Visionary Award finalists are Susan Benton, global product strategy, new ophthalmic products, Shire Pharmaceuticals; Wayne Caulder, head of U.S. sales, ophthalmic devices and microsurgery, Carl Zeiss Meditec AG; and Cynthia Matossian, MD, founder and medical director of Matossian Eye Associates.

Catalyst Award finalists are Malvina Eydelman, MD, director of FDA’s Division of Ophthalmic and Ear, Nose and Throat Devices (DOED); Kendra Hileman, global head, Surgical Clinical R&D, Johnson & Johnson Vision; and Beth Marsh, senior director, global product commercial strategy lead, Shire and vice president, OWL.

Rising Star award finalists are Bindu Manne, associate director, market development at Shire Ophthalmics and co-chairman of Membership Committee and chair of Digital Committee, OWL; Rebecca Hussain, president at RHMM Inc.; and Kristen Ingenito, market analyst, Market Scope and co-chairman of Program Committee, OWL.

OWL members can vote here until Oct. 12. Winners will be announced at the OWL’s Signature Event at the American Academy of Ophthalmology's meeting  in New Orleans on Nov. 12 from 5:30 to 7 pm at The Ogden Museum.
Home VM Mobile