NORA Announces Winners of Awards for Contributions to the Area of Neuro Optometric Rehabilitation


SCOTTSDALE, Ariz.—Last week, The Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation Association, International (NORA) announced the six winners of their awards for contributions to the area of neuro optometric rehabilitation. The winners—five individuals and one organization—were recognized at NORA’s 28th Annual Conference, which took place in Scottsdale, Arizona. This year’s winner for NORA’s awards for contributions to the area of neuro optometric rehabilitation are Eric Singman, MD, Ph.D. and Patrick Quaid, Optometrist, FCOVD, Ph.D.; the Concussion Legacy Foundation; DeAnn Fitzgerald, OD; Curt Baxstrom, OD FCOVD, FAAO; and Gary Esterow.

Eric Singman, MD, Ph.D. and Patrick Quaid, Optometrist, FCOVD, Ph.D. were co-recipients of the Advancement of Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation Award in recognition of their contributions to advancing the field of Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation. This year, they collaborated on a chapter titled Vision Disorders in Mild Traumatic Brain Injury, which was published in the book Neurosensory Disorders in Mild Traumatic Brain Injury. Susan Daniel, OD, president of NORA said, “Eric and Patrick have continually demonstrated their commitment to advancing and sharing the science and practice of Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation,”

The Concussion Legacy Foundation (CLF) won the Advancement of Sciences Award for its contribution to the science of neuro-optometric rehabilitation. Founded in 2007, the CLF supports athletes, Veterans, and all affected by concussions and Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy achieve smarter sports and safer athletes through education and innovation through programs designed to educate and protect athletes at both the local and national level.

DeAnn Fitzgerald, OD, is vice president of NORA. She was honored with NORA’s Founding Father’s Award in recognition of her lifelong dedication to the exploration, elucidation, and enhancement of the concepts surrounding the nature of the human visual process. Dr. Daniel said, “DeAnn could not be more deserving for her dedication to her profession, her colleagues, her patients, and just about anyone who needs a helping hand.”

Curt Baxstrom, OD FCOVD, FAAO won the William and Diana Ludlam Educators Award in recognition of his commitment to serving students and patients in the neuro-optometric rehabilitation area. Dr. Daniel said, “Bill and Diana Ludlam were instrumental in helping to establish neuro-optometric rehabilitation in the academic setting. Curt has continued to honor their legacy through his lectures nationally and internationally, his published papers, and his dedication to patients in his community.”

Gary Esterow, NORA’s executive director, was presented by Dr. Daniel with the President’s Award for demonstrating superior service to the organization and to the field of neuro-optometric rehabilitation. She said, “Under Gary’s leadership, we have seen a significant growth in membership, heightened awareness of Neuro Optometric Rehabilitation within the health care professional and patient communities, increased interest by and partnerships with industry and other associations who provide rehabilitative services to individuals who have suffered a traumatic brain injury.”