Eyenovia Appoints Ophthalmologist Dr. Julia Haller to its Board of Directors

NEW YORK—Eyenovia has announced the appointment of renowned ophthalmologist and scientific leader, Julia Haller, MD, to its board of directors. Since 2007, Dr. Haller has served as ophthalmologist-in-chief at Wills Eye Hospital in Philadelphia, where she holds the William Tasman, MD Endowed Chair. She also is professor and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University and Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals. In addition Dr. Haller has published over 400 scientific articles and book chapters and innovated translational advances against blindness in many areas.

She has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, and awarded the Rolex Achievement Award, the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Honor Award, the AAO Senior Achievement Award, the Vitreous Society Senior Honor Award, the Crystal Apple Award (for mentorship) of the American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS), the Kreissig Award from EURETINA, the President’s Award from Women in Ophthalmology (WIO), a Secretariat Award from the AAO, the Gertrude Pyron Award from the Retina Research Foundation/ASRS, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the AAO, the Louis Braille Award from Associated Services for the Blind, the Heed Award from the Society of Heed Fellows, the Gass Medal from the Macula Society, the Strittmatter Award from the Philadelphia Medical Society (their highest honor), the AAO EnergEYES Award, the WIO Suzanne Véronneau-Troutman Award, the Charles L. Schepens, MD, Award from the Retina Research Foundation/AAO and election to the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars. She holds Chair XVI of the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis.

Dr. Haller also serves on the board of directors of Bristol-Myers Squibb Company. In addition, she serves as president and board member for the Women in Medicine Legacy Foundation. Dr. Haller chairs the Heed Foundation and Society of Heed Fellows, is a member of the board of directors of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, Johns Hopkins Medical and Surgical Association, and the Philadelphia Orchestra Association, and is a member of the American Ophthalmological Society Council and the American Academy of Ophthalmology Foundation board of advisors.

She is past president of the Retina Society and the American Society of Retina Specialists and was previously a member of the Board of Trustees of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology, as well as a founding member of Women in Retina. Her editorial board service includes RETINA, Retinal Physician, Retina Times, Ocular Surgery News, Retina Today, and Ophthalmology Times.

Dr. Sean Ianchulev, CEO and chief medical officer of Eyenovia, said, “We are delighted to welcome Dr. Haller to our board of directors at such an exciting time for Eyenovia. We believe that Dr. Haller’s decades of experience as an esteemed ophthalmic surgeon, scientist, professor, and business leader will be invaluable to the Eyenovia team as we strive to advance our late-stage ophthalmic pipeline and work toward our near-term clinical and regulatory milestones.”

Dr. Haller said, “I have been familiar with Eyenovia and its MAP technology for some time now and believe the company’s proprietary programs have the potential to become new standards of care in ophthalmic indications with significant unmet needs. I look forward to working with my fellow Eyenovia board members and the leadership team to help create advances in the field.”