Essilor Shareholders Approve Board Director for EssilorLuxottica


CHARENTON-LE-PONT, France—At Essilor International’s (Reuters: ESSI.PA) annual general meeting yesterday, shareholders voted in favor of renewing the mandates of Louise Frechette, Jeanette Wong, Antoine Bernard de Saint-Affrique, Bernard Hours, Marc Onetto and Olivier Pecoux. Additionally, the shareholders appointed Wong as director of the board of directors of EssilorLuxottica, the company that will be created upon completion of the pending merger of Essilor and Luxottica. Executives from the two companies have previously said they expect the merger to become finalized in mid-2018. It has already been cleared by Australian, European and U.S. regulatory authorities, and is awaiting approval from Chinese regulators.