CooperVision Names First Best Practices Student Scholarship Recipients

More Images
SAN RAMON, Calif.—Following the announcement of its 2020 Best Practices honorees last month, CooperVision, Inc. has revealed the recipients of its new Best Practices Scholarship. Offered to outstanding third-year optometry students, the scholarship enables future eyecare professionals to learn directly from some of the best in optometry. The inaugural Best Practices Scholarship recipients are
• Matthew Barnes, New England College of Optometry
• Christina Cherny, SUNY College of Optometry
• Matthew Howell, Chicago College of Optometry

Recipients were chosen based on their academic standing at a U.S. optometry school, their demonstration of leadership and participation in school or community activities, honors, and additional optometry-related experience. The Best Practices Scholarship provides them the opportunity to attend the 2020 Best Practices Summit, where they will listen to and collaborate with eyecare professionals from this year’s honored practices.

“Through the application process, we heard from so many of the bright minds and kind hearts who are truly the future of optometry,” said Michele Andrews, OD, SENIOR DIRECTOR of Professional and Academic Affairs, North America. “Our three recipients stood out for their inspiring stories, passion for the profession, and dedication to providing life-changing care to their patients. We look forward to contributing to their education and career preparation through their participation in the Summit, and we expect the honorees will also benefit from hearing their perspectives.”

The Best Practices Scholarship Program is an expansion of CooperVision’s annual Best Practices initiative, which recognizes optometric practices that advance the profession through innovation, leadership, and the provision of exceptional patient experience.

For more information, visit