ORLANDO, Fla.—The American Academy of Optometry has announced its 2023 award recipients, recognizing individuals who have made important contributions to advancing the profession of optometry. Inspiring Excellence in Eye Care: The Academy’s awardees are nominated by Fellows who were inspired by the achievements each awardee attained in research, education, leadership and/or service to the profession. This year’s awards ceremony will be held on Oct.13, 2023 at 8:00 a.m. during Academy 2023 New Orleans in ballroom C of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. One hour of CE credit can be accrued during this two-hour event.

“In New Orleans, we will celebrate these awardees and inspire the next generation of optometrists and vision scientists,” said Melissa D. Bailey, OD, PhD, FAAO, awards committee chair. The 2023 award recipients include:

Eric B. Papas, PhD, BScOptom
Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Alex R. Bowers, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO
Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Rabia Mobeen, BOptom, BA, MPhil Optom
Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award

Timothy A. Wingert, OD, FAAO
American Academy of Optometry - Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

Jennifer Deakins McCreight, OD, FAAO
William Feinbloom Award

Nathan Efron, AC, DSc, FAAO
Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award

Anne Mika Moy, OD, FAAO
Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award

Annabelle Seddon
Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Marlee M. Spafford, OD, MSc, PhD, FAAO
Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Vondolee Delgado-Nixon, PhD, FAAO
AAOF Excellence in Diversity Awareness and Education Award

Jameel Rizwana Hussaindeen, MPhil, FAAO, PhD
AAOF Outstanding Emerging Leader Award

Ian L. Bailey, OD, FCOptom, DSc, FAAO
Tony Adams Eminent Service Award

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Jason Nichols, OD, PhD, FAAO
Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Ralph Stone, MS, PhD
Founders’ Award

Donald Korb, OD, FAAO
Exemplary Service Award

Award of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

Padhmalatha Segu, OD, FAAO
Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision
(American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

The section on cornea, contact lenses and refractive technologies awards will be presented during the section awards ceremony and Max Schapero lecture on Oct. 11, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. in Room 255-257. Half an hour of credit can be achieved during this one-hour session.

The public health and environmental vision section will hold their section awards ceremony and Henry B. Peters lecture Oct. 13, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.